The National Union of Ghana Students (NUGS) – China, Lanzhou Chapter was formed on the 24th June, 2019 at the Gansu Agricultural University in Lanzhou city, China. With an initial membership of 24 at its formation, the Chapter is currently made up of over 35 members and still counting.

Membership of the union in the Lanzhou Chapter is made up of students from five of the main Universities within Lanzhou in the Gansu province of China, namely;

  1. Gansu Agricultural University
  2. Lanzhou University
  3. Northwestern Normal University
  4. Lanzhou Jiaotong University
  5. Lanzhou University of Technology

Upon the formation of the chapter, a 3 member maiden executive body was elected to man the affairs of the union. The chapter executives are;  

  1. Mr. Francis A. Chimsah – President (182 98406304)
  2. Mr. Philip Ghanney – General Secretary (182 98364884)
  3. Mr. Robert Niayele – Treasurer (183 93916449)

The number of Ghanaian students and non-students is gradually increasing and the city has a Ghanaian community group, which is collaborating with the local NUGS in addressing the welfare of students.

Lanzhou is the capital city of Gansu Province in northwest China. The Yellow River, the Chinese Mother River, runs through the city, ensuring rich crops of many juicy and fragrant fruits. The city is the transportation and telecommunication center of the region. Covering an area of 1631.6 square kilometers (629.96 square miles), it was once a key point on the ancient Silk Road. Today, it is a hub of the Silk Road Tourism Ring, with Maiji Caves to the east, Bingling Temple Grottoes to the west, Labrang Monastery to the south and Dunhuang Mogao Caves to the north. Lanzhou is a beautiful modern city with both the grand beauty of northern cities and the prettiness of southern cities. The city downtown comprises five districts: Chengguan, Qilihe, Xigu, Honggu and Anning. Among them, Chengguan District, situated in the eastern part of the city, is the center of politics, economy, culture and transportation. Anning District, in the northwestern part, is the economic development zone as well as the area where most colleges are located.