Anhui (安徽) is China’s famous energy and landlocked province of the People’s Republic of China located in the eastern region of the country. Located across the basins of the Yangtze River and the Huaihe River, it borders Jiangsu to the east, Zhejiang to the southeast, Jiangxi to the south, Huabei to the southwest, Henan to the northwest and Shangdong for a short section in the north. The provincial capital is Hefei, which is also the largest city of the province. The name “ANHUI” was derived from the names of two cities: Anqing and Huizhou (now Huangshang City). With a population of 62 million, Anhui is the 8th most populous province in China. It is the 22nd largest Chinese province based on area, and the 12th most densely-populated region of all 34 Chinese provincial regions. Anhui’s population is mostly composed of Han Chinese. Languages spoken within the province include MandarinJianghuai Mandarin, and the Gan and Wu varieties of Chinese.

Hefei Economic and Technological development zone


  • Anhui’s principal tourism sites include the following:
  • Ancient villages in southern Anhui- Xidi and Hongcun (world heritage sites)
  • Chao Lake
  • Jing Ting Mountain
  • Mount Huangshan (world Heritage site)
  • Mount Jiuhua
  • Mount Langya
  • Mount Qiyun
  • Mount Tianzhu


  • Anhui Agricultural University
  • Anhui Medical University
  • Anhui Normal University, Huainan City
  • Anhui University
  • Anhui University of Finance and Economics, Bengbu
  • Anhui University of Technology, Ma’anshan
  • Anhui University of science and Technology, Wuhu City
  • Anhui University of Traditional Chinese Medicine
  • Anhui University of Science and Technology, Huainan City
  • Anqing Teachers College, Anqing
  • Fu Yang Teachers College, Fu Yang City
  • Hefei Normal University, Hefei City
  • Hefei University of Technology, Hefei City
  • University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei City
  • Wan Nan Medical College, Wuhu City
  • Hefei Institutes of Physical Science, Hefei
  • Chinese Academy of Sciences, Hefei City.